Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lindakimy

Why would lilies not bloom?

lindakimy
14 years ago

I am a complete novice about growing lilies. I'm not even sure what kinds I have since they have all been given to me. So, thank you all in advance for your advice and patience.

These (probably Asiatic) lilies are very healthy looking plants that are approaching 5 ft. They have returned in my garden (very good drainage and full sun until about 3 p.m.) for about 3 years. Some even have buds - and that is where I see something that looks like it could be a problem. There is a white, cottony looking substance around each bud. I don't know enough to even know if that is normal but it makes me suspicious. It doesn't appear to be mealy bugs and doesn't move when disturbed.

Could this be preventing buds from opening? Is it a problem I could treat? I don't like using chemicals in my garden but I would make an exception if a simply fix could do the trick.

Again, thanks for your heap!

Comments (13)

• alina_1
    14 years ago

The cottony substance is normal for some of Asiatics and their hybrids, so do not worry about this.

You might have a problem with Lilies not blooming for you because of your climate. Lilies need cold period (vernalization) every winter to bloom.

• lindakimy
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks, alina. That could well be the problem. Our winter temperatures can get down to the low teens but it doesn't last long and the ground doesn't really freeze. How cold and for how long must the lilies be in winter?

• alina_1
    14 years ago

It should be at least 400 hours of temperature about 40F or lower.

• blondiesc
    14 years ago

Linda, I'm in the Midlands of SC (hello neighbor)and my lilies (Asiatic, Oriental, Trumpet) all do well. I have them planted in the same bed as alot of daylilies. They seem to like the same conditions. Very odd that yours form buds but don't bloom. I don't believe it's from lack of cold weather.

{{gwi:625016}}