Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sandi_w_gw

Oriental Lily Seeds on Stems

Sandi_W
18 years ago

Can you plant the seeds that are on the stalks of Oriental Lilies? And if so, when do you collect them and how do you plant them? This is my first year growing them.

Sandi

Comments (10)

• kdjoergensen
    18 years ago

Maybe there is a misunderstanding ?

Oriental lilies do not develop bulbils (offsets) on the stems. Typically asiatic lilies and tiger lilies will do this.

Oriental lilies can develop seeds, however. The seeds develop inside the embryo of the flower (big puffy seed pods will develop where flower used to be). You can harvest the seeds when the pod turns brown (late fall).

After you have harvested the seed pods, break them open over a piece of paper and you will find many disc like falkes. If you hold the flakes (seeds) up to light only some of them will have something "inside" them. If the flakes are clear (empty) then they are not fertile and should be discarded. Only some seeds (flakes) will be good. If the lily has not been visited by bees at all, none of the flakes may be any good. You will have to try and chance it.

The best way is to put the seeds in a plastic bag (ziplock) of slightly moist seed starting mixture or cactus planting mixture. Leave plastic bag at 65-70F for 4 months keeping it barely moist. Then put in the fridge for 3 month at which time small bulbs develop. Finally bring out and plant the small bulbs 1/4" deep in small pots. Plant outdoors after last chance of frost.

Oriental lilies will not create plants which are true to type (e.g. the offspring will most likely not look like the parent).

It is often easier to simply scale the lily to create more lilies.

You can use below link for an explanation how to do that.