Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluederby21

Newbie Lily grower - Please help!

bluederby21
12 years ago

Greetings fellow lily growers! I'm a complete lily newb and I need a lot of guidance :) I recently purchased a new home about 4 months ago and since then it has been a crazy productive Spring completely redoing the landscaping and getting my dream garden going.

One of my mail order suppliers (since I've provided her so much business) rewarded me with an insane discount on about 60 lily bulbs. (They're getting ready to turn off all their coolers for the season so they had to get rid of everything!)

I never realized lilies were so pretty so I selected a hand-full of different kinds. She's giving me the following buds:

12x Casa Blancas (white)

3x Cobra Orientals (red)

3x Copper Trumpets (orange)

9x Elodie Double Asiatics (beautiful pink)

3x Golden Stargazers (banana yellow blend)

3x Muscadet Orientals (white w/ pink blush)

3x Mystery (pale pink)

3x Pink Trumpets (dark pink)

3x Purple Princes (dark purple)

9x Shocking Orienpets (golden yellow w/ burgundy red)

3x Sphinx Double Asiatics (red)

6x Stargazer Orentals (red / white blend)

I'm going to be giving away about a third of these as gifts to friends and family and the remainder I'm keeping for my self. So here are my questions.

I reside in Orlando (zone 9B) and my house faces the NW so I'm leaning towards planting the majority in my backyard that receives morning sun and late afternoon shade.

1. Can I plant all these now or should I wait until the Fall? If I do have to wait until Fall is keeping them in the fridge sufficient enough in keeping them dormant or should I do more?

2. I'm leaning towards starting them all out in pots until they grow and then transplanting them to different spots in my yard next Spring. Would this be alright or should they go directly into Earth?