Return to the Lily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help - Did I Kill My New Lillies?

Posted by dtownjbrown OHIO (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 21, 07 at 18:09

I'm an EXTREME novice when it comes to gardening but I really do want to learn. When to plant, when to water, sun or shade - I have absolutely no clue....

About two weeks ago, I purchased 6 "already-bloomed" pixie lillies from Walmart and 2 "already-bloomed" purple salvia plants from Lowe's. It hasnt rained since I before I bought the plants and the temperature has been ranging from 85-92 degree (I live in Cincinnati, Ohio) so I've been watering them every other morning before I leave for work with a water pail (not the lawn sprinklers)

Six days ago I noticed that the petals on the pixie lillies were starting to fall off. As of today, all the petals are gone and the salvia plants arent purple anymore. Did I do something wrong?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help - Did I Kill My New Lillies?

Your lilies have done what lilies do - once they've bloomed out they won't reflower this season. For now, just snip off the "candelabra" arms where the flowers were attached so it doesn't set seeds. Let the stem gradually yellow and brown out over the season and cut it back in the fall. I usually leave an inch or two of the stem sticking out of the ground so I know where they are and don't accidentally dig or plant over them. They don't need a lot of water; don't like their feet wet which could cause the bulbs to rot. Pixies multiply, so you might well get several more stems next season, each with a nice bud count.