Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mike5055

My lily is no longer upright...

mike5055
15 years ago

So, I have been in university and working a lot, and have finally had some time to get out to my garden. Some Lilies I planted last year started growing at an angle for some reason. So I moved them to new spaces, put them upright, but now the tops kinda tilt to the side because of how they were growing. Is there anything I can do to fix this? Perhaps staking it? Thanks for any help!

P.S. - I can get you a picture of it tomorrow if it would make it easier to see what I am talking about.

Comments (4)

• aliska12000
    15 years ago

I'm no expert but planted several varieties of Asian and the other type like Stargazer.

They like full sun and if they don't get it, they lean. My Regals don't get nearly enough sun on the east side, bought a bunch of hoop plant stakes, the tops just frizzled on some, so they don't like it there. Even on the south side of my house where there is 6 hours or so of sun, they bloom beautifully but still lean but not as much.

The only ones that aren't leaning are a new Red Velvet which is way in the front and gets the most sun, also the stargazers in that area don't lean.

There is one exception. I don't know the type, but it is Mrs. R. O. Backhouse which likes part shade the vendor said, so it gets very little sun. That one does not lean.

• mike5055
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Yeah, that's confusing me. It was in a full sun area (most of my back yard is due to its placement).

The only thing I can think of is there are two rather large hostas I put in until I could prep a new bed. They were rather close to the lily, probably far closer than they should have, and started to encroach in on it a bit. Is it possible that could have done it?

Also, will it correct itself now that I have moved it to a completely empty area with nothing around it?

• aliska12000
    15 years ago