Return to the Lily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Lily bulbs - who is the BEST supplier? And when to plant?

Posted by irish_rose_grower z7 LI NY (maureenpm00@hotmail.com) on
Mon, Jul 24, 06 at 6:50

I want to buy some more lily bulbs. I was wondering who is THE BEST online supplier of huge healthy bulbs and are they planted in fall and spring?
I've tried so far, the lily garden, van englen and brent and beckys.

Also, anyone know why my casa blaca from the lily garden is stunted and looks like it is dying off? It never got any buds and was very small, now it's turning light green and looks like it's on it's way out. I'm new to lilys so not sure why this is happening. The other casa blaca is planted in the same bed about 2' away and looks fine.

Thanks
Maureen

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Lily bulbs - who is the BEST supplier? And when to plant?

hi maureen,

i bought my bulbs last august from bloomingbulb.com for fall planting, and i had great results this spring. the plants came up tall and healthy and produced really georgeous blooms. hope this helps!

~bobby

o

i bought mine from QVC. Hahahaha, i know what u r thinking BUT they are gorgeous!! Big!!!!!!! But Casablanca that i got from ebay is dying,the leaves are brownish and the flower is small and brownish.

o

• Posted by phylrae z5a/centralNYS (My Page) on
    Tue, Jul 25, 06 at 22:14

We got GREAT lilies from John Scheepers, The Bulb Crate, The Lily Garden, Brent and Becky's Bulbs and a few from White Flower Farm. I'd say the LEAST EXPENSIVE by far were JS. They are blooming like crazy right now. BuggyCrazy sent us HUGE bulbs, but she isn't selling lilies much longer. I wish I had purchased more from her when I could. BTW, I wouldn't recommend Jackson and Perkins...I planted 8 Orienpets, 5 came up and they were SKINNY and had 1 little bloom each. :0( Hope you find some good bulbs! :0) Phyl

o