Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
timberohio

Oriental Lily Pics

timberohio
15 years ago

I'm really new to the Orientals. I purchased Lovely Girl last year and didn't care for it. It bloomed like a trumpet. Didn't open up and faced downward. Well totally different story this year. Bloomed upright and huge. I am now hooked on the Orientals.

The first Pic is Lovely Girl followed by some of my purchases so far this year.

Stargazer

White Stargazer (this is the name it was sold to me under. Not sure there is such a thing)

Bargain of the year is Bamako Oriental Hybrid. A big box store had 5 blooming lilies in a 2 gallon pot. One of the lilies was broke off and one was leaning. Talked to the manager and he gave me the $15.00 pot of Lilies for $5. Great Bargain and beautiful. Can't find any information on it though.

Hope you enjoy,

Andrea

Comments (12)

• aliska12000
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Enjoyed your pics, thanks for sharing. This forum is not as popular as the daylily forum, but I almost prefer the orientals, each is effective in its own way though.

Your Bamako looks a lot like my Color Parade, posted some pics on that, have seen much the same under other names, so names may be proprietary or hard to tell. Mine does turn more from pink tones to lavender after it's been open a few days. In some ways I like yours a little better if the colors are true. My first blooms are huge on 1' stems, and even though very attention grabbing, am hoping in future years it will have more blooms of a size more like yours. Still, I suspect yours is a little different, and a lot can depend on the soil, climate, growing conditions and what you feed/don't feed.

The only one we have in common is Stargazer. There is a reverse coloring of SG, but I haven't heard of a totally white one, don't think I've seen any like that for SG but certainly many whites.