Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skeeziks_gw

Sun/Shade Lilies not blooming!

skeeziks
17 years ago

I am new to lilies and planted a bunch of bulbs in the spring - some oriental, some asiatic (I received a few mixed bags of bulbs). Some of these are planted in our wooded garden, where they are under trees and get lots of shade, with dappled sun. These lilies have grown and look healthy, are about 12 - 18 inches tall, and one has buds on it (but the rest don't). The other lilies are planted in almost full sun (with either some morning or some afternoon shade). These lilies have only grown to about 4 inches tall. They still look nice and green but have stopped growing and certainly don't have any buds on them. When I first planted them I figured the ones in sun would do really well and the ones in shade might not, but it seems to be the opposite. What am I doing wrong? They are all planted in about the same soil (the natural clay, mixed with some good woodland compost, mixed with some garden soil). And they all get the same amount of watering. Should I just move they sunny lilies to the shade next year? Or give them another year to get adjusted?

Comments (3)

• hld6
    17 years ago

Hi skeeziks,

The sun/shade thing is just serendipitous, (maybe weaker bulbs or smaller varieties just happened to end up there or there are other garden conditions in play).

Asiatics in particular like full sun and while Orientals can tolerate some shade they need to get ~ 4 hours of direct sun to do well. You are correct to feel that the situation should be reversed. In fact, the lilies planted under lots of trees receiving only dappled shade are not going to do well at all (sorry!). They may do OK for a year or two but will peter out. I wish it were different since most of my yard is the same type of shade as yours. I'm planting Maryland woodland natives in those areas.