Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mystyspassion

When to Seperate Bulbs or Do I?

Mystyspassion
18 years ago

Last year I planted Oriental "Stargazer" Lillies; they were only about 2 ft. last yr. I had 4 in the Front Yard & 4 in the back; I cut the ones in the back down last year once the foilage starting dying; but the ones in the Front I left alone and let them die to the ground and fall themselves.

Well this year the ones in the Back that I cut down only grew the same 2 feet and they seem to have less Buds; last year 4 - 6 Flowers; this year only 3 Flowers each. Now the ones in the Front are a little over 4ft. Tall and 2 of them have 12 Buds they haven't bloomed yet but will soon. Anyway I am new to bulbs and lillies. Someone told me that you have to seperate the Bulbs every couple of years. Now this person does this with tulips.

So what I want to know is do I seperate the Bulbs with Stargazer Lilies and if so when or how many years do they need to be in the ground before I do this? and if I am supposed to do it this year what time of year would I do this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I don't want to kill or loose the Lillies in the Front especially; I just wish I hadn't planted them so close together seeing how big they got this year. Can I seperate the Bulbs so that they are farther apart or will this affect them?

Thanks in advance for all help

Comments (4)

• kdjoergensen
    18 years ago

Always let the lilies die back naturally in fall.

Seperate every 3-4 years with oriental lilies.

Best time to do this is in fall, after the stems have died back.

• dunwaukin
    18 years ago

I don't think that your growing conditions in the back yard are as good as the front. Add more info if you can. For instance, one is going to be a lot sunnier than the other. As well, your drainage might be different in the two yards. Eavestroughs?? Grade?

1) Maybe you should amend the soil in the back yard. Add some compost, top soil, peat moss.