Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smkymtn1drer

Name this lily?

smkymtn1drer
13 years ago

I'm hoping someone will tell me the name of this lily. I bought it a few years ago at a local nursery where it was informatively labelled, "Lily". It's the only one I've ever had and a beauty, but it smells bad.

Also, will it ever make more plants?

Here is a link that might be useful: Anonymous Lily

Comments (11)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    13 years ago

I'm no expert on lilies, but traffic has been very slow on this forum lately, so let me tell you what little I know about this lily.

I would say it is the Oriental lily Stargazer, except that you say its aroma is "bad." Stargazer is known for a strong fragrance, but most gardeners rave about how wonderful it is, so I'm not sure about yours. On the other hand, Stargazer is very popular and readily available--I would think most nurseries would carry it, and I know of no other red/white lily that most nurseries would carry--so that argues for the likelihood that yours is Stargazer. Perhaps the smell thing is different for different noses. Why don't you ask a friend to sniff it and say whether he/she finds its smell wonderful or bad.

If it is Stargazer, it probably should produce baby Stargazers, but like many other plants, perhaps it needs to be three or more years old to do that. I don't really know on that score.

At any rate, it is a gorgeous lily. Looks great with those white daisies.

Kate

• smkymtn1drer
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks, Kate! Such clear reasoning plus photos match. As for the smell, I have a sometimes painfully acute nose. The fragrance is sweet but cloying and too strong for me --I suppose others might like it. I will ask.

It is a knock-out, isn't it! It's three this year, so maybe babies. Each year it has made more blooms --will this continue, do you know?

Corin

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    13 years ago