Return to the Lily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
asiatic lily HELP!! asap please

Posted by Ashtash nc (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 28, 13 at 14:02

My friend brought me her Asiatic Lily that she has had on her porch in a pot. She bought it last spring (2012) and admits neglecting it. It is dying. It still has a partial tag: Tango Passion Crossover Lily pure white with speckled burgandy blooms. All instructions are gone.
It is a little over a foot tall. There is one sturdy stem and another weak stem that's been pulled out of the soil with a green bulb? at the bottom. This bulb has been exposed for two weeks (aprox)
What should I do? I just received it so I haven't checked the condition of root. Or if there are more bulbs.
Re pot till fall or put straight in the ground now? The back side of the foliage you see is dead...brownish yellow and crispy but there is still green.
I am very new to plants in general, especially bulbs, any and all advice appreciated. Thank you!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: asiatic lily HELP!! asap please

Either way is ok, you're only a little over a month away from normal fall bulb planting time. If you choose to plant right away simply remove the entire root ball from the pot and plant it without dividing it or pulling it apart. If you choose to wait until all the stems have gone dormant (brown) then you can gently pull the bulbs apart and plant them in well drained soil enriched with compost. This site may be helpful.

Here is a link that might be useful: North American Lily Society

o
RE: asiatic lily HELP!! asap please

And plant in a location that gets sun, at least a half a day if you can.

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!

Return to the Lily Forum

Information about Posting