Return to the Lily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Best time to order lily bulbs and best type to get?

Posted by athenainwi z4b/5 WI (My Page) on
Sat, Aug 1, 09 at 17:22

I've been gardening for a few years now and I want to get some lily bulbs to go behind my roses in my backyard. The area is clay soil, full sun, and on a hill. I want to know when is the best time to plant them in my area (spring or fall) and what type should I get? I'd like to get something fragrant and fairly sturdy so I was leaning towards the Orienpet lilies but I was also looking at the Longiflorum Asiatic lilies. I was thinking of buying a mix from John Scheepers and supplementing with a few individuals from other places like Bluestone.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Best time to order lily bulbs and best type to get?

Fall is the ideal planting time for lilies. As to what kind to get, it really depends on what you like. The La's I have all have nice sturdy stems, fragrance is very light, if you want more fragrance I'd suggest the Orienpets or trumpets for the strongest fragrance. I like The Lily Garden as a bulb source.

o

Thanks for the advice. I did see a few on the Lily Garden that looked nice but they are too expensive to buy a lot from. I might buy the Orienpet collection from John Scheepers and then get a few others from the Lily Garden to supplement. When do you order for fall planting? Is now too early?

o

Now is a good time to be placing orders, if you wait to long they may sell out of some varieties.

o

That's what I figured. I came up with a list that includes Orienpets, Trumpets, and Asiatics from John Scheepers and the Lily Garden. Now I just have to convince my husband to let me get them (he has to help plant them all so he does get a say in it).

o