Return to the Lily Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Recommendations For Beginner

Posted by pomme8916 (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 30, 07 at 20:31

Hi, I am new to growing lilies i do not know much about them. I heard asiatics and the trumpet lilies grow and bloom from seed in about 18 months. Can anyone recommend
"-species lillies -" in theese categories: asiatic or trumpet lillies that grow fast for a beginner.

Thank you for your attention.

pomme8916

Happy Gardening!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Recommendations For Beginner

#1 we need for you to tell us what zone you live in.
#2 if you want something to grow fast, don't start with seed. It will take years. Buy bulbs!
#3 Bulbs bloom as different times i.e. asiatics first, trumpets next, etc.
#4 number of blooms depends on the age/size of the bulb. You get what you pay for. Generally the smaller the bulb, the younger the plant, therefore not as many blooms as the same bulb that has been in the ground for 3 years.
Tell us more!

o

Hi, I really do not care if it grows fast or slow. But if species asiatics exist please let me know.

thanks

pomme8916

o

The parents of the asiatic hybrids include: amabile, cernuum, concolor, davidii & pumilum. All of these are easy from seed, though cernuum needs a little more care. If people in your area are successful with hybrids, these should do OK.

Here is a link that might be useful: NALS species gallery

o

Thanks. Could lillies aso be grown as houseplants. Thank you all for your contributions.

pomme8916

o

• Posted by hld6 z7 MD (My Page) on
    Sat, Sep 1, 07 at 23:41