Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tess_2008

asiatic & orientals planted together OK and how many?

tess_2008
15 years ago

I'm wondering if there would be any problem with planting asiatics and orientals all together in the same spot. I'm wanting to put a variety of pinks clumped all the way down the drive and was thinking I'd like to spread out the blooming time.

I'm thinking that many orientals bloom later than asiatics (zone 5) and thought I'd just put like colors of both in the same spots.

Are there drawbacks to this approach?

Also, I've never done a lot of lilies before and hope to plant several hundred this fall (hopefully). I know they look great in mass, but is interspersed in a mixed border in clumps of 10 possibly pleasing? Conversely, is 20 too many per spot (10 asiatic 10 oriental)? It is about a 300 foot by 20 foot deep span of a drive that I'm going down and I don't know if 10 per spot is a decent number - or will that simply be swallowed up? I want them to be visible as you look down the lane.

Comments (3)

• flora2b
    15 years ago

Sounds fabulous.
    Where I am the deer would absolutely love the smorgasbord.
    Most bulbs require a distance of about 1 foot apart in all directions so you don't have to split, hence dig them too soon.
    As lilies don't last that long, I think I would put something that blooms for a long time in front as an accent like tickseed (coreopsis) for example.
    Good luck and have fun digging.

• tess_2008
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Deer?????
    LOL. I did not know that they would like my lilies! Oh, good heavens, why not. Hosta/lily salad with a little red twig dogwood for fiber! Actually this year we limbed up our windbreak and reduced our deer feeders substantially.

But back to the lilies. Do the deer like the orientals and asiatics equally?