Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brit5467

dug up giant lily bulbs too soon (to divide & store) - help!

brit5467
14 years ago

I'm still learning, so bear with me. In 2005, I planted 2 ea. of the following: white Casa Blanca oriental, orange & yellow Asiatic, and 6 LA hybrid lilies which have all done beautifully and multiplied beyond my expectations.

With my climate, they do fine in the ground all winter so I never divided them. BIG MISTAKE! This summer they were so overcrowded with big, thick heavy stalks struggling to reach the sun & falling over in the process (Eastern exposure). Some of the bulbs had even heaved up out of the ground. So today, I dug most of them up and found some bulbs as big as a small grapefruit!!

I realize, after finding this site, I made a mistake by digging up the "green" ones. I was on a roll, trying to get them all up today. Most of them HAD died back but I have quite a few still green.

My question is -- will the "green" ones still bloom next year or should I replant them in pots until the stalks die? I donÂt want to replant them since I'm redesigning my garden and not sure whatÂs going where yet. I may wait until Spring to figure THAT out since there are other type plants to consider and I donÂt know where they are now that theyÂve died back.

If I donÂt have to replant in pots until they die back, can I cut the green stalks off now? Or can I just let them lay somewhere and die off by themselves? If so, where? In sunlight or darkness?

Another question -- when storing bulbs, do I leave any of the stalk on them or twist them off completely? I ask, because some of the stalks have little bulb nodes on them higher up than the bulb itself.

What would you guys do? IÂd appreciate a step-by-step suggestion, since I donÂt know what the heck IÂm doing. I apologize if this doesnÂt make complete sense, but IÂm sort of panicking after reading that I did a "no-no" with the green ones.

Thanks,

Bonnie

Comments (10)

• charlotte304