Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ispahan

What are your FAVORITE lilies?

Hi all,

Help a newbie out and share what your favorite lilies are and why. There is no minimum or maximum number you need to come up with, but let's try to come up with some lists (photos are good, too!).

I am new to growing lilies, but I have admired Lilium regale in many gardens so far. It is what inspired me to start searching for lilies bulbs this fall and sparked the resulting lily obsession I am now experiencing.

So, c'mon and share your favorites! :-)

Cheers,

Corey

Comments (28)

• kprp
    12 years ago

L.A.: Royal Sunset. This is a workhorse lily, will grow and spread like crazy. It's got a beautiful coloring (gold, bronze, organe) that fades to something just as pretty. Deep green leaves.

Asiatics: Olina is my new favorite upfacing asiatic. Dakr red with black center. It's striking. I love the downfacing lilies, they are so charming, and some favorites are Robinson's comet, My Joe-Ann, Red Velvet. Sunray is an old tried and true sturdy upfacing yellow.

OT's: there are many many favorite, but my enduring all timne favorite is Anastasia. It is downfacing and it has red centered white flowers. However, the thing never propogates in my garden. I love a couple of the more recent OTs like Flashpoint and Baywatch. Classics like Black Beauty and Scherezade are great, reliable lilies.

• Ispahan Zone6a Chicago
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Kprp, thank you for posting your favorites! I also love the down-facing lilies and recently planted 'Red Velvet' as well as several Lilium lankongense hybrids made by Chris North and Judith Freeman. They seem so refined and graceful!

I planted 'Anastasia', 'Black Beauty' and 'Scheherazade', too, so I am happy to see that you recommend them.

• hostaholic2 z 4, MN
    12 years ago