Return to the Maples Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
JM near Black Walnut Trees

Posted by neverenoughflowers 6 SE PA Chesco (My Page) on
Wed, Jan 20, 10 at 21:33

Hi, I am new to Maples, I usually hang out at Cottage Garden and Winter Sowing. I have several Black Walnut trees on my property. I also have some maples but not in close proximity to the walnuts. I would like to incorporate several JM in an area close to the walnuts. Does anyone have any success stories to share? Thanks for your advice.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: JM near Black Walnut Trees

Most maple species are resistant to the allelopathic effects of black walnuts, Japanese maples included. I would still have concerns about planting these trees where they would encounter a lot of root competition from the walnuts - the competition will slow establishment and there's a risk of the walnuts hogging all the soil moisture and nutrients. I'd provide additional attention to both watering and mulching to supply nutrients.

o

Thank you for your information. I appreciate it. Carol

o

I don't think there will be that much root competition with a walnut. I have over 500 hostas under a canopy of mainly walnut trees and they do fine. I chose the BW due to the fact that they are taprooted trees and don't have very many surface roots.
Do a google search for more information or call your local forestry office.

o

Whether or not a tree develops a so-called tap root has little bearing on the appearance and location of the rest of the root system. All trees will concentrate the bulk of their roots very close to the soil surface, typically within the top 12-18", with most of the very fine and dense feeder roots directly below the soil surface. That's where the oxygen, soil moisture and nutrients are located and so that's where the roots predominate. Any forestry or arboriculture resource will confirm this.