Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
desertdance

When to Move a 3 gal size, and when to pot a seedling?

First time here! Our new home has 2 Japanese Maples. One is very small and has a price tag of $75.00 hanging from it. It's dry and dormant leaves appear shredded, and I think it's called weeping or something like that.

I'd like to move it to a different location. When is the best time to do that? It is currently dormant.

Under the larger Japanese Maple, who's leaves appear much different, are 3 tiny seedlings. I would love to pot them and gift them to friends. How deep to dig and how to keep alive?

Thanks!

Suzi

Comments (5)

• Suzi AKA DesertDance So CA Zone 9b
    Original Author
    11 years ago

OK so no answers! I can deal with that. Found them googling or yahooing, and there is more out there than here. Thanks very much for not responding!

Original Author
    11 years ago

I'm new to this thread and I feel sad that not one of you has responded to this serious question I had.

• maple_grove_gw
    11 years ago

Hi Suzi,

Unfortunately this forum is rather on the dead side.

Sounds like you found answers to your questions, and I don't know anything about So.CA LowDesert, but I'll give you some general answers, if only because I really don't want you to feel sad.

Small trees and seedlings are easy to transplant. The best time to do it is around the end of winter, soon before they leaf out. Now, and for the next month is the perfect time where I live. If you're seeing budswell on your plants, then transplant them now.