Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
billd_bmw

Japanese Maples

billd_bmw
16 years ago

I have removed 40 holly plants from my North facing yard. The ground was covered with what I know as 'volcanic rock'. The porous black rocks that are light. Hope you understand what I mean.

I have an established tree that does not lose it's leaves in the winter. Sorry I cannot tell you what it is, but it would provide shade for the maples in Summer.

I would like to plant several Japanese Maples (Crimson Queen, Orangeola, Shin Deshojo) beneath that large tree and wonder if the 'volcanic rock' will pose a problem if I don't remove all of it? Would it be wise to dig a deeper hole and put some of that 'volcanic rocks' in the bottom of the hole, to provide more drainage? I would appreciate any suggestions as I'm new to planting those beautiful trees here in Texas.

I would appreciate any suggestions.

Comments (5)

• xman
    16 years ago

billd_bmw,

I have been using a smaller size of the black lava rock in my maple containers for a while now. I use about 20% lava rock 1/4" size to mix with my container soil to provide aeration. That said, you can just till the lava rocks into the soil, it will only help.
    I am assuming that you have clay soil, since that is what I have in Dallas, if this is the case do not dig a hole and then fill it with lighter soil mix. It will create a water basin that will drown the trees. If you have clay soil, it will be better to plant on a mound, or use as much of the native soil as possible.
    But if you lucky to have loamy soil, then just till the lava rocks into the soil and plant.

xman

• billd_bmw
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Xman,