Return to the Maples Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Seeded vs Grafted

Posted by billd_bmw 8 (My Page) on
Mon, Feb 25, 08 at 22:55

I am new to JMs so forgive my ignorance.

I live in the Dallas area and purchased a nice (5 year) Crimson Queen from a local nursery. I have also purchased 2 grafted (Crimson Queen and Red Dragon) from Ebay.

I have looked at several forums here, and I would appreciate any feedback on how the grafted trees grow vs the seed grown. My question is about the color of the main tree trunk. Each of the grafted trees have a green trunk and the grafted part has dark red. When they grow larger, does the main trunk change color, or does the graft dominate the bark color for new growth only? Do I need to worry about what species the main graft was to consider how large they will grow?

They will still have a place in my garden.

Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Seeded vs Grafted

• Posted by picea 6A Cinci- Oh (My Page) on
    Mon, Feb 25, 08 at 23:39

Japanese maple seedlings used for grafting can have either color bark but they are all the same plant, Acer Palmatum. It will have no impact on the health of the tree just the cosmetics. Grafters should try to match the color of the bark on the seedling with the color of the bark of the cultivar being grafted for the best looking tree. Since your plant are weeping eventually the seeding that the plant was grafted onto won't be very noticable. David

o

I will mention that you would be very hard pressed to find a weeping laceleaf seedling (or any japanese maple other than a green upright or red upright) About 95 percent of all laceleafs are grafted and probably less than one out of a thousand are seedlings these days. Note that you might find one at a small time back yard grower or something, but you wouldn't likely find one at a typical nursery.

o

re: I will mention that you would be very hard pressed to find a weeping laceleaf seedling