Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mattnova

Is this a good composition for a raised bed?

mattnova
16 years ago

Hi,

This is a formula I came up with and I am wondering if it needs some tweaking. This mix will not be used in containers, only raised beds for j.m.'s. If anyone has a different mix and has several years of luck with it, let me know.

6 parts pine bark (pine fines)?

3 part peat

1 part Turface

1 part crushed granite (turkey grit)

1 part sand

thanks,Matt

Comments (23)

• mattnova
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I forgot to ask this...How many parts,if any, of the native soil should be incorporated into the mix?

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    16 years ago

. . . a soil you came up with, hmmm? It looks amazingly like one I've been using and posting the recipe for, for several years. What a coincidence.

Al

• mattnova
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Yes Al, I did get the idea from you. I am new to japanese maples and didn't mean to sound like I was taking credit for it. I was actually hoping for a clarification. I am confused on how many parts of each. How much native soil to use and if there is a cheaper alternative for turface. I have 10 pounds of turface but was going to save for my containers because I ended up paying $1 a pound or more after shipping. Thanks

16 years ago

I'm not sure what your native soil is like, but the Turface isn't ALL that important in raised beds.
    Try mixing with a spade fork:
    6 native soil
    3 pine fines
    2 reed/sedge/Michigan peat (or compost)
    2 sphagnum peat
    1-2 sand if you think you need it
    dolomitic lime
    (not for containers)

FYI: Schultz Soil Conditioner is Turface MVP in Schultz's packaging @ less than $10 for 25 lbs.

Good luck.

Al

• mattnova
    Original Author
    16 years ago