Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
niroha

Size of Container for JM

niroha
14 years ago

Hello. I am new to the forum and hoping for some guidance.

Actually before I go any further I should mention I am new to gardening. This is our first yard so this is my first go at any real attempt at gardening. So definitely put a 'novice' tag on my forehead.

I love love love JM's. I have ordered a few and the ones going in the backyard are going to be in containers for a few years before they find a permanent home in the ground. I've read some conflicting information on the size of container needed JM's. I'll be using cedar containers, I just need to know which size to pick up!

The JM's going in containers will be:

2-3 y/o Ukigumo

2-3 y/o Inaba Shidare

3-4 y/o Katsura

3-4 y/o Beni schichihenge

I would also like to put some ground cover plants with them in the container - putting that out there in case that affects the size of container I should seek.

Oh one last question - recommendations for the type of soil I should pick up?

Thank you very much!

Comments (5)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

An 18-24" square box should hold you for several seasons :-) That size will actually be suitable for a longer period if you repot and root prune periodically and are willing to accept a reduced growth rate.

I grow a great many JM's in containers long term and the potting mix I prefer is Gardner & Bloome Acid Planting Mix. It is properly chunky with a high proportion of bark, so provides the required drainage yet holds up well long-term. It is recommended for containerized JM's, among other things. It should be available at any better nursery in the Seattle area (Swanson's, Sky, Emery's, Molbaks, etc.).

You will also need to pay careful attention to watering and fertilizing containerized maples. I generally use Osmocote when potting up initially and once or twice a season in spring thereafter.

• niroha
    Original Author