Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mattnova

Grafting supplies- where to find them?

mattnova
16 years ago

Can anyone tell me where to find grafting supplies such as the rubber bands? Also, where is a good place to get understock? I am looking for quantities of 10-25 understock trees if possible. I did a search on here and found 1 company but it was a $350 minimum.

I just want to do this for fun, not so much for selling trees. I am a complete novice but am starting my research now and would like to try a few this year, even if they aren't perfect. I am sure it will be a learning experience and good practice.

Comments (17)

• myersphcf
    16 years ago

You are a bit late to get started.for spring grafting..since it has been cold "here" in central IL. my stuff is still dormant and you can probably graft for a couple more weeks at most...if you can get dormant RS...but generally this is way to late and by the time you do get your RS and supplies it will be too late ...you can try summwer budding...(google it) but for now you're timing is IMHO not good . Email me personally and I can give you a list of suppliers.Grafting for "fun" is a crap shoot BTW without the proper enviorment along with years of practice your success rate will be very low no matter what some savant here may tell you. The idea may "sound" to many "easy" but in practice there are so many variables involved with RS, scion, enviorment, tedhnique, as well as after care, soil, and nutricional requirements etc...that it becomes far from an easy "fun" project it is both for most of us an evocation and a profession...David

• kbguess
    16 years ago

mattnova

sounds like I am just a year or so ahead of you with 'hobby grafting'

I grow my own understock from seed. I summer grafted a few plants last year and had my first 'push' recently.

I use parafilm. You can get parafilm and grafting rubber bands from http://www.midwestvineyardsupply.com/

Parafilm seems easier for me and my relative clumsiness.