Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
boo_lala

Rescue me! Maple leaves withering and turning black

boo_lala
18 years ago

(Sorry: I posted this first in the gallery because I thought I could only attach pictures there; but I've attached links to the pictures here).

Help!

Some friends of mine left me a bunch of their plants when they moved, including two young Japanese maples in pots. One is a Bloodgood (it still has the label) but I don't know what the other is. The mystery maple is the one with the problem.

A couple of weeks ago the leaves started to sprout and it was looking great--bright green leaves with a slightly reddish border. Then suddenly some of the leaves started to wither and turn an ashen black.

Is this a disease, a parasite, or something I did wrong? (I am very new to any sort of gardening)

Could it be from too much water? We had very heavy rains last weekend (3 inches in 3 days). Before that there was drought (although I'd been watering it). It's also been a bit cold here the past few nights (but above freezing) and very hot before that (highs in the 90s). Could the pot be too small?

If it's a disease/parasite, will it spread to the other maple (which is on the other side of the house) or the other plants? Is there anything I can do to save it?

I will try to attach pictures, but I apoloize in advance; I took them at night.

{{gwi:1036573}}

{{gwi:1033457}}

Comments (5)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    18 years ago

The soil appears poor and compacted in the first photo. The tree needs repotting badly, but to do so now would likely kill it. Even those experienced in out of season repots would be reluctant to repot now. You can plant out and lift & repot next spring, or plant entire container & repot next spring. Both of these options are better than potting up, as you'll create dissimilar soils in the container & one soil will always be too dry and the other too wet.

Al

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    18 years ago