Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carolinabeach_gw

Recognizing and collecting Beni Hime seeds

carolinabeach
17 years ago

I've been visiting a Beni Hime JM at my local arboretum for about 15 years, and last fall and winter started watching for signs of seeds. I never saw any. I love this little umbrella shaped tree! If successful with the seeds, I'll grow the tree in a pot with full morning-1PM sun. I understand this variety only gets about 3' tall in the ground, so I thought it would be happy in a pot. So, what do the seeds look like and when should they appear? Is it better to buy a grafted tree anyway, or are seedlings worthwhile? Thanks for any help!!

Comments (5)

• mattlwfowler
    17 years ago

Japanese maple seedlings due not grow true to the parents form. If taken from a red cultivar, they will likely be about 75 percent normal green seedlings, about 24 percent shades of red in spring and fall but green or bronze through most of summer, and about 1 percent (or less) should be a nice looking red foliaged tree.

However, if 'beni hime' is a witches broom (which is a deformed growth on an existing tree often resulting in a dwarf form of the parent tree that is cloned by cuttings or grafting, grafting for Japanese maples), it will likely never produce seed since many witches brooms are sterile. I can't confirm whether it is a witches broom or not (or whether it will produce seed), but in all honesty I would just go dish out the cash and get a grafted tree.

I have seen thousands of seedlings from about 30 different cultivars of japanese maples, and only about 5 or 10 have been close enough to the parent to consider growing as a replacement.