Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laperouse

Designing with Acer palmatum

laperouse
16 years ago

I am new to Acer palmatum and just bought an Acer palmatum "Villa Taranto" which from the pictures in the catalog looked simply stunning (I think ultimate height and width is 8x8). Now my problem is where to plant it in my garden. I wonder what would go well with this plant. Should I plant it in front of conifers? What kind of plant background would look good? I would like for it to be part of a mixed border I am creating. Any suggestions? Does anyone have design pictures to share of what their JM (similar type) looks like in the garden (not close-up pictures of plants)?

Marianne

Comments (3)

• dawgie
    16 years ago

Since Villa Taranto is lacy in appearance with red leaves, look for companion plants that will contrast in appearance -- either in texture or color. Contrasting textures would be plants with larger leaves, such as hostas or acubas. Hostas look very nice near JMs, if it is in a shady spot (or at least no afternoon sun).

Villa Taranto will change in color from red in spring to greenish in summer, so keep that in mind. The colors might not show up well if it is planted next to dark green conifers. I would look for companion plants that are lighter green or gold in color. I've got my Villa Taranto planted more as a specimen with low-growing ornamental grasses (Blue fescue) planted nearby. I've got hostas, mondo grass and dwarf crested iris planted near other JMs in my yard.

• laperouse
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks Dawgie! It sounds like you have had your Acer VT for at least a year? How much shade do you have yours in? What is it's growth rate? Do you know what it's ultimate spread is? I seem to remember that it will get about as wide as it will get tall? Hostas sounds nice (maybe some chartreuse-coloured ones?) - I was thinking of golden carex as well. What colour do the leaves turn in the fall? Do you happen to have a picture of yours?