Return to the Maples Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Japanese Maple excited!

Posted by Hibiscus_0bsessed none (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 24, 13 at 13:48

Ok so as u can tell I'm normally on the Hibiscus forum but I also love Japanese Maples, I have only one in my front yard. Today I went out to pick some seeds to try and grow some new ones, so I can say "I grew it myself" (I'm new to gardening) anyway I found 9 already sprouted seeds! I was so excited I had to share. I am still going to try and grow more myself, but its a great start. Thanks for listening/reading. :)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Japanese Maple excited!

Congrats. You're a father...or mother. Now, first and foremost, nothing will kill a seeding faster than potting it up with garden soil. It will turn to cement. Search this forum for potting mixes.

tj

o

Could you possibly put your growing zone information in your profile so that it shows when you post?
I find it difficult to process posts without the context of where you are.
And yes, I know I can see it if I click on your profile- my position remains that I shouldn't have to :)

Congrats on the seedlings.
Did you do a anything special in the way of seed prep?
What kind of maple do you have?
Do you know it is is self pollinating or what other maples you have in your neighborhood?
It will be interesting to see what they turn out to be!

o