Return to the Maples Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Taking care of Bloodgoods

Posted by pgardenweb NC (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 9, 08 at 14:13

Hi!

I am new to gardening. Last summer we planted a Japanese Bloodgood. Thankfully it survived the Charlotte drought. It is about 6' in height.

I need some tips on taking care of it (like preventing diseases, from insects and feeding). Any guidance or links is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Ram

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Taking care of Bloodgoods

That must have set you back. Just make certain it gets watered, and fertilize in the fall but hey we can water once a week but will also get a 15% increase in our bills. Whoopie!

Here is a link that might be useful: Propagating Perennials

o

Despite a reputation of being fussy, Japanese maples are really quite easy to grow if you provide the conditions they prefer and are rather trouble free. They are not prone to many insect issues, although Japanese beetles can be a problem in those areas where they are common. If J. beetles are common in your area, follow recommended controls to keep them in check (none in my area, thankfully).

Disease issues tend to be associated with improper growing conditions. If you have decent soil with good drainage and water appropriately, this shouldn't be a concern either. Like most larger landscape plants, fertilization is generally not something that needs to be done on a regular basis. Test your soil first if you have specific concerns, but mulching annually with a 2" layer of compost will pretty much address all nutrient requirements and has the added benefit of helping to retain soil moisture and keeping weeds down. Avoid much disturbance or cultivation in the root zone - J maples have many delicate surface feeder roots that can be easily damaged and this provides inroads for any disease pathogens that may be present. Water as necessary for your climate, but deeply and infrequently when you do.