Return to the Maples Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Postscript: A week after the freeze....

Posted by bkfisher z5 IN (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 16, 07 at 20:55

I'm bummed. Not trying to be hasty or hysterical but it appears my Tsuma Gaki and Seiryu could be toast. The Tsuma Gaki was planted last late summer and the Seiryu just a month ago(I know...stupid.... should have kept it in a pot until danger past).

Both quite suddenly have major areas of dreaded greyish-tan in the upper branch areas. I'm not talking simply the new growth. These are major branches. The healthy plum/green color left these areas incredibly quickly; seemingly overnight or at most a matter of days.

Given that I'm a novice at growing these can the trees be salvaged even in spite of what appears could be some major, extreme pruning? The Tsuma Gaki is probably 30 inches tall. The Seiryu on the other hand is almost 50 inches tall and has multiple branches.

Looks like I picked a bad time to plant numerous maple trees.... all young and all last summer/fall.

bkfisher

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Postscript: A week after the freeze....

Sad to hear...maybe they can be salvaged.

o

On a more possitive note your damage seems to be at the upper ends of your tree ...as long as the trunk above the graft is not effected you may be ok if it turns grey or black then it's likely toast otherwise you probably will have a new small tree by summers end..keep your fingers crossed and don't get out your shovel or chain saw just yet ...at the same time it doesn't sound promising ..yah you jumped the gun but mistakes happen ...buying older established tree shows good instincts ...planting it that early ...well live and learn David

o