Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oakiris

Japanese Maples in Colorado...

oakiris
12 years ago

O.K., I am one of the many people who want to grow Japanese Maples in inappropriate climates. I know it gets too cold here, there is no reliable snow cover (Denver metro area) to help insulate them, it is windy, dry, and the soil is alkaline.

I am considering trying to grow one in an container, though I haven't figured out how to overwinter it. The cultivar I am considering is the 'Abigail Rose.'

I have never tried growing a tree in a container before. Any pointers on proper pot size, potting mix - and any overwintering suggestions (I do not have a garage or a basement)- would be much appreciated.

Holly

Comments (9)

• kaitain4
    12 years ago

Pot should be as large as possible without seeming too big for the plant. Abigail Rose is a smaller tree, and is fairly slow growing, so keep that in mind when selecting the pot. Soil Mix should be at least 50% bark and then gritty material for the rest. No Miracle Grow mix or anything of that sort. To over-winter I would wrap the entire thing very carefully with bubble-wrap or other insualting material and keep it in a shady but protected (if possible) place. The main thing is to keep it out of the sun and wind. An enclosed porch may work, as long as it stays fairly cold, but you will need to be sure to water it regularly thru the winter months, maybe once a month.

• oakiris
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks for your response, kaitain4!