Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jetski78

growing japanese maples questions

Jetski78
9 years ago

Hi everyone I bought my first Japanese maple, an acer dissectum ornatum last Autumn. Over winter it lost all its leaves and I wasn't sure if I killed it as I left the soil very dry. Anyway a few weeks ago leaves started sprouting out everywhere but have now stopped.

I am a total noob when it comes to maples so I don't know it's growth habits. Is this normal? Will it grow any more leaves now? Or do they only grow in the spring?

My other question is, how do they know it's spring? I mean, what is the trigger? Is it light cycle? Or temperature perhaps?
Any help will be gratefully received

Jetski

Comments (5)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    9 years ago

In fall, the increased length of the dark period (not day length, technically) pushes the plant toward dormancy. Chill seals the deal, moving the plant into deep dormancy. It's also chill that releases the plant from dormancy. After exposure to an adequate amount of chill units, the plant passes into a quiescent period, unnoticed, after which the onset of growth will begin as soon as temperatures allow. Usually, several days with soil temps above 45* is enough to get buds moving.

Throughout the year, the plant will be very responsive to photo-period - changes in the length of the dark period.

For keeping maples in containers attractive and growing up to their genetic potential, you'll need to shoulder some responsibility for regular root work and repotting, as opposed to simply potting up when the root/soil mass gets terribly congested. I'll link you to a thread I wrote about maintaining trees in containers over the long term. You'll find some pictures there, too.