Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plasticplants

Landscapers planted tree ...I'm not an expert but seems to high

plasticplants
10 years ago

Hi! I'm hoping you all can help me. My name tells you I'm no expert with inside or outside plants/trees. We always hire an expert. When we lost our Ash tree to the dreaded Ash B, we wanted to get a replacement. The largest we would could find ( and afford) was a 4" calibar October Glory Red Maple. We marked the location of the planting. We came home to this. We were told ( after calling and asking) that they hit really hard clay/rock or something and could not make the hole any bigger. I think it looks awkward this high out of the ground. Will it hurt the growth of the tree?? Should we have them replant? Any advice would be appriciated. Also, the rope was left on the base of the truck. ( you can't see that ...covered with mulch). Should we remove it?

Comments (7)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    10 years ago

Picture is not at all clear enough to determine if replanting is necessary.......but it doesn't look great.

First, planting high - top of rootball above soil level - is seldom an issue. In fact, it is preferred over planting too deeply.

Second, there are mixed discussions on whether or not rootball wrappings should be removed but at the very least, any fastenings - rope, twine, wire, nails etc. - holding the rootball intact need to be removed. If wrapped in burlap, that should be pulled away from the trunk of the tree and ideally off the top and sides of the rootball as well.

Third, the root flare or where the trunk widens into the root system should be at ground level (or slightly higher) and not covered with soil. Any mulches need to be kept well away from the base/trunk of the tree - about 6" is good.

• plasticplants
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you gardengal48:)

• nurseryman33
    10 years ago