Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blaze08

Pruning a Weeping Japanese Maple?

blaze08
15 years ago

Hello,

I recently purchased a home and I have a very small maple in my yard. It is about 2 feet tall and what I believe to be a weeping Japanese maple. It is red leaf, with obvious weeping branches. The leaf is very delicate looking.

I am very new to gardening so I do not know much about it at all. I am wondering if it is ok for the leaves to be resting on the ground? Someone mentioned that this can cause disease, so I was going to prune them off the ground, but I am having a hard time finding any information about how to prune.

So I guess my questions are:

1. Is it ok for the leaves/branches to be resting on the ground?

2. If I need to prune, can I right now or do I have to wait until fall?

3. If I need to prune, what is the best way to do it?

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Comments (16)

• blaze08
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thank you bullthistle. When you say prune the limb closest to the main stem as possible - do you just mean the main branch that the smaller limb is attached to, or do you mean to prune the entire branch close to the main trunk of the tree? Sorry for my ignorance, like I said I am very new to this and I just want to make sure I do this right. The tree is just beautiful!

Thanks again!

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    15 years ago

I'm not sure I'd agree 100% with that advice :-) Leaves touching or resting on the ground is not a big deal and they should be fine unless they become tattered or damaged due to watering or irrigation. A light touch is always recommended when pruning Japanese maples and if sweeping branches touching the ground bothers you, I'd only prune them back far enough so they have adequate clearance. Just back a couple of leaf nodes or so. Avoid trimming so that all the branches are even, like bowl haircut - this is a very unnatural look.