Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kjmm1

Yellowing of Interior Leaves of Mikawa Yatsubusa

kjmm1
9 years ago

Hi All,

New around here, and I've caught the JM bug.

I just bought my first house two months ago, I am in zone 9 (Southern California) I'm a total newb to JM's and gardening, but a month ago I started collecting JM's.

My favorite JM in a container, a 4-5 ft mature Mikawa Yatsubusa just started to show some yellowing of interior leaves that crisp up then fall off.

It it happening to only the interior leaves and on one side (the side facing away from my house). There hasn't been a lot of this, and it's just been for the past few days, but if it is something, I want to catch it early and do something about it before it gets worse.

There was none of this for the previous month that I've had the tree, all of the leaves were deep green, new growth was light green. I had it on my patio with about 30% shade and most of it protected from afternoon direct sun (some of it got direct afternoon sun but was not burning. I was watering it every few days, only when I noticed the soil starting to get too dry.

Then we had a heat wave a week ago combined with Santa Ana Winds (hot dry strong winds), and I saw some LEAF scortch... I wasn't sure if got wet from the sprinkler in the morning and it got hot too early and burned the leaves, or if it needed more water, or if it needed more protection from the direct afternoon sun, the hot winds, or that fact that it wasn't mulched, or if it needed fertilizer, so I did all of the following:

- I watered it everyday (during the heatwave and low humidity my plants needed it badly... water was evaporating a mater of hours elsewhere in my garden)

- Added mulch (but still a few inches away from the trunk)

- Moved it to a shadier spot on my patio that gets 60% shade.

I noticed no new burn or signs of stress for the rest of the heat wave.