Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gggardener_gw

Japanese Maple - should I prune a second leader?

gggardener
14 years ago

Hi! I planted this Japanese maple in my front yard about 3 years ago. It is starting to develop a second leader as shown in the picture below, which is about 1/3 of the plant now. I never pruned it because it was really struggling to get established at first. Now it is healthy and getting very bushy and I think it needs pruning. My question is - should I cut off the second leader? I do not know what variety it is, so I also included a close up of the leaf. I am hoping someone here can help me identify it and can help me figure out what type of growth habit to expect from it. Also, it is located about 4 or 5 feet away from a concrete retaining wall - do you think this will be problematic? Will the roots damage the retaining wall when the tree is larger? Thank you in advance for your help - I am new to caring for Japanese Maples, and I want to learn about and take good care of my tree so it grows to be healthy and beautiful :D

{{gwi:1041025}}
{{gwi:1041026}}

Comments (9)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    14 years ago

Unless I am missing something, I don't see a second leader.....unless you mean that low branch off to the right. I wouldn't consider that a "leader" and at any rate, Japanese maples do not really have distinct leaders unless specifically trained to, as some weeping forms are. Once they start maturing and branching well, they seldom develop a 'leader' other than whatever trunk structure they may have. Removing anything that may be a considered a leader at this young age is unnecessary unless it has developed an uncomfortably tight crotch angle. If it is that lower branch you are referring to, removal is up to you. Personally I'd let it go for awhile to see how it develops - depending on your specific aesthetic, low branching on JM's is often considered a desirable trait.