Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimmd_gw

Moving a Mature Japanese Maple

jimmd
17 years ago

I have a older friend, who I have helped for years with his yard work. He has decided to sell his house, retire and move out of state and thus has offered me his Japanese Maple that sits infront of his house. He is planning on moving this summer, so if I want to take it, I have to move it now. The Japanese Maple is a Crimson Queen and is about 6 feet tall and 10 feet in diameter. It is a beautiful specimen that seems in excellent health. My question is, is it possible to mover a tree like this at this time and have success? Would it put to much stress on the tree and am I crazy for trying? Any advise would be appreciated, but I hate to let the opportunity pass if it is possible make a successful move after it has already leafed out.

Comments (9)

• bmarley5780
    17 years ago

Im no expert but I say ya it can be done. Maples go through 2 growth spurts and if you do it before the 2nd. that would help the tree before the winter...

water well before
    get as much as the root ball as possible
    do in the morning / shade / overcast day

have fun!!

• myersphcf
    17 years ago

Ok what BM has said is true ...if you can wait a bit it would be best but if you have NO choice...wellll //My humble suggestion to you would be to have it professionally dug and replanted..I am sure that way a clam shell will be able to get most ALL of the root ball giving it MUCH less shock ...In addition if you decide to go the cheapskate root on a tree that worth alot of money ( not smart)AND you had better have the paramedics standing by with the defib cause contrary to what you may have heard about Jm's root systems.... the root system of a mature JM is NOT small or that shallow . I know fron experience it will be a major task peobably involving a chain saw at some point and likely damageing the tree!!! David

• tree_oracle
    17 years ago