Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisafair

thinking about a JM in a container

lisafair
12 years ago

First, I am a complete novice to all things that need dirt to live and has leaves. Last year we had a major re-do of the stairs leading to our front door and our driveway. We were able incorporate a large cement planter into the mix. The planter is roughly 9 feet 7 inches long by 3 feet 4 inches wide. It�s part of an incline so the depth of the planter at the front, near the sidewalk, is about 3 feet tall and at the back it is about 2 feet tall. There is rock at the bottom for drainage and the rest is soil. The planter has the drive on one side, sidewalk on another, and the other two sides are stairs.

I have no idea what to do with this thing. I want to make it pretty but and am very intimaidated when I go to my local nursery. The few times I have times I have sought help it seems like I am bothering them with my questions.

Back to the container - My first thought is to put in a dwarf maple as a permanent structure and then to plant other things around it. I was look at the Beni Ubi Gohon. I like the color and from what I have read it stays fairly small.. about 4 feet at the most. The planter gets full sun all day and I live in zone 6 (New Jersey).

Is the Beni Ubi Gohon a good choice? If not, does anyone have other ideas?

Comments (2)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    12 years ago