Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mccallumjoe

how much sun for A. Japonicum Aconitifolium?

Spacehog
11 years ago

I'll apologize for my ignorance with regard to gardening terms. I am still brand new to gardening and I have found certain aspects confusing. For example, I have read things about a new tree that I just bought that say it should have "partial shade" to "light shade" I guess I don't really understand what (if any) difference there is between partial shade and light shade.

To be more specific, I have a spot that I'd like to use that gets direct sunlight from about 10:45am till about 1:45pm. Well, that's how much it gets right now at least. I'm not sure if it will receive less light as we get farther away from summer solstice. The rest of the time, this spot gets shade though. I am wondering if direct sun for 3 hours qualifies as either "partial shade" or "light shade". Also, I am curious as to what will happen if I give the tree too much shade. I have been reading that the main risk of too much sun for most JMs is leaf scorch. It seems like the risk of too much shade is that the tree will be less colorful. I would really love to see this tree's fall color, so I'm wondering if I should pick a different spot that has more sun. Thanks for your help!

Comments (7)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    11 years ago

In my area, this tree can grow very happily in full sun. We are pretty far north (lat 47) and summer sun tends not to be as intense as in more southerly locations but I can't imagine this tree not being happy in full sun anywhere, provided it gets sufficient water. Green leaves are green leaves :-)) And yes, you do need some sun to develop good fall color.