Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kbolster_gw

Help! - sick maple tree

kbolster
17 years ago

Hello,

I have a maple tree in our backyard that is looking very sickly. It is starting to lose it's leaves and the leaves look brown and crisp around the edges. I have no idea what the problem might be or if I can do something to fix it. There are two things that I think might be a contributing factor:

1) tent catepillars - we had a fair amount this year and that tree seemed to have the most. However, if that wasn't the problem, wouldn't they have just eaten all the leaves? Would it affect the tree now that most of the catepillars are molting into months?

2) when the land was cleared the bulldozer did some damage to the bark at the base of the tree. The land was cleared two years ago so I'm not sure if that is an issue or not.

I have very little gardening experience and don't know anything about trees. I'd REALLY like to save this tree if possible bc it gives us great shade in the summer.

Here's a link to pics of the tree and it's leaves:

http://www.kvbassoc.com/mapletree/

Thanks in advance for any information/advice anyone can provide!

-Kathryn

Here is a link that might be useful: Pics of the maple tree & it's leaves

Comments (8)

• myersphcf
    17 years ago