Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stl_aer

Autumn blaze maple leaves prematurely changing

stl_aer
16 years ago

I left town for 10 days and gave my neighbor specific instructions to soak my newly planted Aut. Bl. Maple every 3 or 4 days if we get no rain which she happily agreed to do. When we came home some of the tree's leaves were turning maroonish-red. It has been three days since our return and we have soaked the tree a couple of times (our soil is sandy so I don't think we can over water) but it's getting worse in terms of leaves changing. Will this tree likely recover from this stress? I plan to wait until next spring to see if it recovers but the waiting is going to drive me over the edge. I am heartbroken about this tree and not too happy with my neighbor.

Comments (10)

• jean001
    16 years ago

Make certain the water is going directly to the original rootball.

• devorah
    16 years ago

I'm a JM newbie and don't have much to say except that I thought my Osakazuki was changing color too soon, so I looked around at various gardens and found that mine matched the others for color - so what I am saying is: Are you sure it is premature.

• nervous
    16 years ago

Devorah, Autumn Blaze is not a Japanese maple.