Return to the Maples Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
japanese maple problem

Posted by kristyandbear nj (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 8, 07 at 18:08

We just moved to a house last fall with a japanese maple. It's truly a beautiful plant but the problem is that around the stems of the new growth (mostly there anyway) there is a white fluffy looking substance, but it's not sticky, powdery almost. i took a sample to our local nursery and he had no idea what to make of it either( he asked if we had a dryer vent near it, there is one but it's about 10 yards down wind from the tree), tree appears to be healthy otherwise. but i don't know if this is something that should be treated, and if so how? this tree is very small, about 7 ft tall, it's in our back yard and is in mostly shade all day, gets early morning sun. new growth leaves are very red compared to rest of the tree. i am brand new to growing japanese maples so any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated. thanks, kristyandbear

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: japanese maple problem

A picture would really be helpful. We can't be certain of whtat you have without it, and it is difficult to be sure without seeing the plant in person.