Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eachperson

Maple tree problem

eachperson
13 years ago

I am a newbie. My maple tree suddenly (in only one week) is drying out and the leaves are falling. It's end of July and we had a pretty warm and humid summer in Indiana (a lot of rain). I have uploaded pictures of the tree along with my findings at:

http://sunwebspace.com/tree/

I search online to find a similar case/pics but didn't find anything. Is this Verticillium or Anthracnose?

I appreciate to have your feedback on it.

Thanks.

Here is a link that might be useful: Pictures of my maple leaf sudden problem

Comments (4)

• Toronado3800 Zone 6 St Louis
    13 years ago

eachperson, I've read Crimson King is somewhat particular in regards to how much water it gets. We year, huh?

Any other maples nearby look ok?

• nimrod_2010
    13 years ago

Large strips of the trunk are peeling off (6 ft.), premature leaf drop last year, only one branch has new leaves this year, the top of the maple next to it is dead with thin leaf production this year. I water the shrubs & lawn around them on a reg. basis, usually one to two times a wk. Lg. leaf maples in the green belt around our tract have died & fallen. Any suggestions?? I need to have them taken down in case of a wind & falling on the house. They are about 30 & 40 ft. tall.

• houstontexas123
    13 years ago

root rot or some sort of soil disease maybe

• tophers
    13 years ago

It could be Verticillium Wilt. I've recently discovered that I have that problem in my yard (soil-borne bacteria). I have lost 2 Japanese Maples, a Vine Maple, a Silk Tree and a Smoke Tree to this. I have 3 other Japanese Maples and a 22' Autumn Blaze Maple that I am hoping won't succumb.