Return to the Maples Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
japanese maple problem

Posted by bama647 7 (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 30, 10 at 22:56

Hi everyone great site glad to be apart of it! i am somewhat new to gardening and have found a ton of great info on here already. ok my question- i planted 2 japanese maples this year in mid may so i was a little late but anyway they allmost immediatly were attacked by japanese bettles. i was told to apply 7 dust to them and seemed to do a good job on the bettles. now my leaves are scorched and turning brown and kinda curling. im thinking the 7 dust done this and that i probably put it on to heavily. just wondering if im on the right track are is there maybe another problem?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: japanese maple problem

also should i do anything? im thinking i just wait til next spring with new leaves and all will be right again. thanks for your imput

o

I have had a lot of success using the product called Seven and there is another called Eight. (Odd names....but makes sense if you have seen the product.) Its a liquid you hook up to your garden hose. What type of J. Maple is this? Very few if any J. Maples will not wilt/burn in the summer sun....at least where I am in STL,MO. Even my bloodgoods take a beating in this heat.

o

Actually, the product name is Sevin and it is an insecticide with the active ingredient of carbaryl. 'Eight' is an entirely different product (permethrin). Both are broad spectrum insecticides, registered for Japanese beetles (among a large number of other insects) and both are available as a dustable powder.

If you are treating J maples for J beetles, a dustable powder or a systemic is the only way to go. Japanese maples have very sensitive foliage and will typically respond to anything sprayed on their leaves with a phytotoxic reaction.