Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chera10

Japanese Maple twig breaks

chera10
16 years ago

Hi,

I am new to gardening and every day is I learn some thing new and it has now become my hobby.

I planeted Japaneese Maple (a.k.a crimosn queen a.k.a acer plamatum.. etc..) tree on last september. Last year it survived but I should have protected from snow/wind. Know I came to know that such ornamental trees need to be protected from snow/wind with burlap in their begning years.

But after good care, watering 2/3 times a week I saw some new growth in spring. I got over entusiastic and added some fertilizer. I didn't see any new growth but the tree is showing some decease signs. It's leaf's are ok but started to brown at the tips on some braches. The new growth is coming here and there but doesn't look healthy. Then in the month of mid July I started it's twig is getting broken on majority of the stems. It started to worry me that I have done some unrecoverable damage. I am looking for expert advise at this point, if any one of you gone through this issue and how to make this tree survive. My neigbhor told me it will die slowly in 1/2 years.. :-(

Roger

Comments (5)

• chera10
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Images Link

First Image:

Second Image:

Third Image:

Fourth Image:

• chera10
    Original Author
    16 years ago

any one recognize this Decease? :(

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    16 years ago

It doesn't look like any maple disease I am familiar with, although it's possible those splits are the beginning of a canker problem. However, they look to me more like a reaction to climate extremes - sharp cold spells can freeze the fluids just under the bark and if exposed to sun or warm temperatures, they can rupture, splitting the thin bark. While not particularly desireable, these splits are generally not a major problem, specially when so tiny. The tree will scar them over itself and you need to do nothing further other than making sure it doesn't happen again.