Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rhorelus

10 days of 100+ Heat killing my Sangokaku

rhorelus
16 years ago

I am new to Japenese Maples and need help. I put a beatiful coral bark maple in the ground last fall, and it now appears to be suffering from the heat.

Most of the upper leaves have browned and dried, and the bark is turning black from top now into the trunk. This has happended in the 3 days I have been out of town, though my regular watering schedule was on....

Any ideas?

Rob

Comments (5)

• myersphcf
    16 years ago

Sounds like typical trouble with this troublesome tree I suspect it is a Sango kaku. I think your tree is history and there was probably NOTHING you did wrong ...these trees seem to be disease prone and suseptable to both cold die back and heat damage and should only be planted in "perfect" JM growing areas in this country...IE:the North West.
    I personally wouldn't waist alot of time with it ...you will probably have a nice root stock (if it is grafted) come up next spring so you'll at least have a green or red generic JM .. If you dig it up and plant another JM I suggest you NOT plant that particulsr cultivar and not plant in that exact spot since it may have diseased up your soil. David

• myersphcf
    16 years ago

OOPS I didn't read the subject but that was obvious it was a Sango kaku ... anyway the above is my take on that cultivar even though I just guessed since there are several red branched cultivars that one is the most popular and I've heard it a bizzillion times from just about everyone who has bought one!!! but I should have read closer the subject subject line ;>) David

• mattlwfowler
    16 years ago