Return to the Maples Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
need help with Japanese Maple Red Dragon

Posted by vivian_2010 IL 5a (My Page) on
Tue, Aug 12, 14 at 23:22

Hi, I am new to Japanese Maple but have been craving for one for a few years. I recently bought a 3 gallon potted Red Dragon (~ 3-4 ft tall). I am really enjoying the beautiful shape and color. I want it to survive the cold weather in our Zone 5a and grow year after year.

I can plant it now (with the cool summer). What precautions I should take to winterize it?

If I leave it in pot, what are the things I can do to help it surviving the winter? I have a unheated garage, but not sure if it gets cold enough in the winter.

Thanks for your help in advance!
Vivian

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: need help with Japanese Maple Red Dragon

I'm in 5B, so not far away. You'll probably get a number of different opinions, so I'll tell you how I would approach it. I've had few losses outside of my own mistakes last winter.

If the plant is badly root bound, I would overwinter the plant in a protected area that is out of any wind. Ensure a heavy layer of mulch and possibly chicken wire. I had a lot of rabbit damage last year due to them not being able to find normal foods. Be sure it's watered up through November.

If the plant is not badly root bound, I would soak in water and untangle the roots. Some will say that this is absolutely the wrong time to do that. Personally, I have done this throughout the summer with no casualties.

You may want to factor in where you will plant. If the plant is going to be in blistering sun, I would wait until spring. If it's partially shaded, I would plant now.

If you'd like to pull the plant from the pot and include a picture of the roots, that would be helpful and we could probalby give more confident advice.

o