Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ahyams

Burgundy Belle with brown leaves

AHyams
9 years ago

I replaced a beautiful Autumn Spire maple tree after it was toppled in a storm last year. When Autumn Spire wasn't available at the nursery, Burgundy Belle was recommended to me as a "show stopper" with beautiful color.
In the fall wWen the green leaves of summer turned to a chocolate brown, I hoped it was just because the tree was so new and was perhaps somewhat stressed from the planting. However this fall is shaping up the same way - with the green leaves turning immediately to a deep brown. They are not dead - it's just the color they become in the fall.

I have no experience with this kind of tree. This is the opposite of what was described to me and doesn't match the brilliant red online images I saw before purchasing this tree.
Am I doing something wrong? Can anything can be done to kick up the color to something more appealing? Fertilizer or whatever?

Comments (7)

• whaas_5a
    9 years ago

Mine is starting to turn a brownish color as well. I don't remember that last year but I do remember the tree went through several transitions to end up with a deep burgundy color by mid to late fall.

Where are you located? Can you post a pic? If you do I will.

• AHyams
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for responding. I have a full image of this small tree but that gives a vague reddish impression - perhaps because the leaf stems are red. This close up shows the true color of the leaves, a sort of cherry coke shade of brown. Sorry it is sideways. I didn't know how to reorient it for uploading - but you can see the leaves well enough.

I live in MN - the Twin Cities. I purchased the tree at Linder's Nursery , a long time business with a distinguished reputation. However they went out of business last fall so I don't know who to ask about this now. I appreciate the advise of fellow gardeners like you. Thanks.