Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ejr2005

Planting A J Green Cascade near wall

ejr2005
13 years ago

We just bought a young Acer japonicum Green Cascade and planted it near a retaining wall. We hope it will someday cascade down the wall. It's staked and is about 2-3' in height above the ground now.

I'm pretty new to JMs and gardening, though we have a beautiful A J Acontifolium, A S Aureum, new this year A S Autumn Moon. We also just planted an A P Tamukeyama in the same area.

After we planted the Green Cascade I realized that because of the wall (cement) it won't have a lot of room for the roots to grow on that side. I'm wondering if anyone has any recommendation for how far to plant it from the wall. I know that JMs often have shortened roots, but I'm wondering if we want that in this situation, if shorter roots on one side would encourage the tree to grow toward the other side (what we don't want), etc.

Also, does anyone have any advice on how to encourage the tree to grow toward the wall side.

Comments (3)

• ejr2005
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Any advice? I'm thinking that we should move it soon before it gets too established.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    13 years ago

I don't think you have much to worry about with the roots. The root systems of Asian maples are not particularly aggressive and like most trees, if they encounter an obstacle - the retaining wall - they will simply grow off to the side. To hasten the tree's 'drape' over the wall, I'd remove any staking ASAP. That will allow it to assume its natural cascading habit. And typically, one side of a weeping maple generally has a more pronounced weep or drape to it than the others, so I'd position the tree so that face is placed next to the wall.