Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
whaas_5a

Recommend a zone 5 Jap. Maple....maybe EMPEROR I?

whaas_5a
14 years ago

Anyone able to suggest a small scale Jap. maple that is zone 5 hardy?

From what I can tell EMPEROR I seems to be a good cultivar.

Comments (7)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    14 years ago

It is a fine choice for a zone 5 garden but I'd not exactly call 'Emperor I' a "small scale" J. maple. It will eventualy attain the same mature size as 'Bloodgood', which generally is considered one of the larger (and faster) growing JM's. If you are looking for something similar but on the smaller size, get a 'Fireglow'. Or 'Shaina'.

• whaas_5a
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks I'll try to hunt those down...I have very little knowledge on the Jap. malples so I want to make sure I select a superior cultivar.

Emperor I is listed in my area as 12'-20'...I'd expect 12-15' in a heavier soil.

If I want to contain the Emperor I to 10'-12', would that be as issue? Or am I just better off seeking the other cultivars you listed?

• whaas_5a
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Here are a few others I found. I would go for a green leaf jap. maple as well.

What I really want is a true zone 5 hardiness or better and then if it exists...a reliable long lasting vibrant orange fall color. I have not seen that fall color before in my area except for a Sugar Maple.

ACER PALMATUM 'HOGYOKU'

ACER PALMATUM 'SISTER ACER PALMATUM 'TSUMA GAKI' ('RED NAIL')

ACER PALMATUM 'SISTER GHOST'

ACER SHIRASAWANUM 'AUTUMN MOON'

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    14 years ago