Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
swidersm

Japanese maple container mix

swidersm
16 years ago

I'm new to Japanese maples and bought two of them on sale at the local nusery. My question is, What kind of soil mix do I want to put them in? The guy at the shop said to mix half native soil (clay) with half potting soil. But I was wondering if I needed to maybe add some perlite or some vermiculite. Is this a good idea? If so how much?

Thanks,

Matt

Comments (8)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    16 years ago

The recommendation to amend individual planting holes has been proven to be a deficit to good plant growth rather than a benefit and is no longer advocated. If amending soil conditions is necessary, it is far better to incorporate the amendments over an extended area - i.e., an entire planting bed - so that the amendments are fully integrated into the native soil. If one is unable to amend a large area of native clay, providing a very wide but shallow planting hole, planting high and backfilling with the removed soil only will work. Amendments can then be used as a topdressing or mulch.